本系列文章讨论了DNA证据是如何在法律诉讼中使用,为您提供的幕后一窥DNA亲子鉴定和法律系统的业务,以帮助您选择最好的测试您的需求. 我们从一些事实,可能会让你大吃一惊:

  • 法律 是营销商人不是科学家创造条件.
  • 在现代实验室, 非常相同的设备和法医科学家将处理您的DNA,无论你打算如何使用的结果或您对收集的DNA样本. It is the documentation of the DNA collection process and the wording of the lab report that differs.
  • 在实验室进行DNA测试的最小精度由认证机构,如AABB和ISO控制. 这符合最低的证据对大多数司法管辖区的规则. 实验室当然可以自由尝试​​向上销售,你以更高的价格扩展分析.
  • 我们使用术语 “情报的” 而不是 “家” 因为所谓的家庭测试可以明显比你家的其他地方进行. 业内人士称,这些个人知识测试或PK短. 他们提到法律测试,链这是短期的连锁产销监管.

测试行业开始测试法. 这是美国一个非常大的企业,由于他们的福利改革. 他们后来添加主页的测试,以扩大自己的业务基础.

家庭和法律的测试之间的最大区别是多么的紧密收集标本被控制, 由实验室保存的记录, 并印上测试的结果措辞报告. 更多关于在标本采集我们 下一篇文章.

This series of articles discusses how DNA evidence is used in legal proceedings and provides you a peek behind the scenes into the business of DNA paternity testing and the legal system in order to assist you in selecting the best test for your needs. We begin with some facts that may surprise you:

  • Home and Legal are marketing terms created by businessmen not scientists.
  • In modern labs, the very same equipment and forensic scientists will process your DNA regardless of how you intend to use the results or where you collected the DNA specimens. It is the documentation of the DNA collection process  and the wording of the lab report that differs.
  • The minimum accuracy of DNA tests performed at a lab is controlled by certification agencies such as the AABB and ISO. This minimum meets the rules of evidence for most jurisdictions. Labs are of course free to attempt to up-sell you extended analysis at a higher price.
  • We use the term “Informational” rather than “Home” because so-called Home tests can obviously be conducted at places other than your home. The industry calls these Personal Knowledge tests or PK for short. They refer to Legal tests as Chain which is short for Chain-of-Custody.

The testing industry began with Legal testing. This is a very big business in the USA due to their welfare-reform. They later added Home testing to expand their business base.

The big difference between Home and Legal tests are how tightly the collection of specimens is controlled, the records kept by the lab, and the wording printed on the Test Results Report. More on specimen collection in our next article.